Skip to content


Text Size: - +
Go Back to Most Recent FYI Articles

10/16/2012 - NHTSA unveils next year's crop of vehicles tested for safety

The Dodge Dart will be among the vehicles tested by the NHTSA.

As 2012 winds to a close, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration has released next year's lineup of cars that will be tested under the agency's five-star safety ratings program.

According to the NHTSA, these cars include the 2013 Acura ILX, Buick Verano, Cadillac XTS, Chevrolet Malibu, Dodge Dart, Ford Focus and more than four dozen other makes and models.

Ray LaHood, secretary of the Department of Transportation, indicated that the safety ratings program enables motorists to select cars that experts consider to be among the safest on the road, potentially resulting in auto insurance savings, as safety is often one of the elements used when establishing rates.

"Safety is a major factor for consumers shopping for a new or used vehicle," said LaHood. "For American car buyers, our five-star safety ratings program serves as one of the most trusted and reliable resources to help them select the safest vehicles in the marketplace."

David Strickland, NHTSA's administrator, noted that the program will rate 85% of 2013's new models and provide rollover testing for 92% of 2013's fleet.

To view the list in full, click here.

Go Back to Most Recent FYI Articles